Ngāti Pūkenga Iwi, Ngāti Pūkenga, header strip
Ngāti Pūkenga Iwi, Ngāti Pūkenga, logo

Ngāti Pūkenga

Ngāti Pūkenga has had many names throughout time and are currently known as Ngāti Pūkenga. Named after the great leader Pūkenga by his son, Te Whetū-o-te-rangi.

We have two solely Ngāti Pūkenga marae: Ngāpeke and Manaia.

We have marae that we share with other peoples, namely Tāhuwhakatiki in Welcome Bay and Te Awhe-o-te-rangi in Maketū.

Ngāti Pūkenga hapū:

  • Te Tāwera
  • Ngāti Te Matau
  • Ngāti Te Rākau
  • Ngāti Kopuwai
  • Ngāti Kiorekino
  • Ngāti Hinemotu
  • Ngāti Whākina
  • Ngāi Tōwhare
  • Some sources also include:
  • Ngāti Kohokino
  • Ngāti Romai
  • Ngāti Ue

For this histories project, we acknowledge 6 dwellings of Ngāti Pūkenga Iwi to include the ancient connections to the eastern Bay of Plenty.

Read more about each of these in the Nohoanga section.

Ngāti Pūkenga Iwi, Quick facts | Ngāti Pūkenga